Skip to content

Super-Fudgy Brownies

August 26, 2011

As everyone knows, fudgy brownies are infinitely superior to cakey brownies.  I’m sorry, that’s just the truth of the matter.  If I want chocolate cake, I’ll eat some chocolate cake.  If I want a brownie, I want it to taste exactly like these do.

I received this recipe from David Lebovitz’s blog, and I recommend you follow his recipe if you’d like to make them, since his instructions are nice and thorough.  While he titled them as gluten-free brownies, I was trying to appeal to the masses (and some very picky eaters in my family), so I went ahead and concealed the fact that they are gluten-free until they were already served.  That being said, this is among the most accessible gluten-free recipes I’ve ever seen, and you won’t find yourself running out to buy crazy, expensive flours or grinding black beans to a paste to resemble the texture of melted chocolate (ew.)

David really stressed beating the batter before pouring it in the prepared pan, so make sure to beat it for at least one minute or until it’s no longer grainy.  I mean, if you cheat like I did, your only dirty dish will be one saucepan anyway, so the least you can do is pull out your electric mixer.  These brownies are well worth that tiny bit of extra effort.  Plus, who wouldn’t want to lick those beaters?

You know you were thinking it.

For this inaugural batch of brownies, I decided to use almonds because we had a surplus of them lying around.  (Also, a certain brownie-hoggin’ family member doesn’t like nuts, which meant more brownie for the rest of us!)  The almonds worked really well, but you could certainly substitute any other toasted nut, or even cut out the nuts altogether if what you’re looking for is more unadulterated fudgy delicousness.  I think I’d like to try hazelnuts next time–and there will be a next time.  Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    August 31, 2011 6:45 PM

    “…grinding black beans to a paste to resemble the texture of melted chocolate”–Who does that?! Anyway, they look excellent and I will be trying them in the near future.

Leave a Reply

