Skip to content

Day Six: Peach Pound Cake

July 9, 2011
tags: ,

No, Peach Pound Cake is not some strange landmark in Madrid.  I wanted to take a quick break from sightseeing to make a wonderful American dessert to freeze for my Spanish host mom.  And given the overabundance of summer fruits in my fruit shop, I decided to go with this peach pound cake that I discovered a few years ago.

The peaches at my store, however, were looking pretty sad, so I went ahead and tried nectarines instead.  Really, this pound cake could be mixed with any variety of stone fruits; the original recipe recommends apples or cherries if you’re looking for a substitution, but I think it’s a perfectly decadent way to use up whatever fruit you’ve got lying around during the summer.

Let me walk you through the process: this is where I started thinking that eggs, butter, and sugar are the perfect combination, regardless of the country you live in.

And here’s where I sampled a little bit of the batter to test my hypothesis.  (Yup, still tasty.)

There’s really no trick to this cake, and you could dress it up or dress it down as you pleased.  Spanish pans are different sizes than American ones, so I had to bake the cake like this.  But if I had the choice, I think I would have used a Bundt pan.  The cake is already marvelously moist and pleasantly peachy; the only thing missing is the Bundt pan’s beauty.

So, there you have it!  Hopefully, come winter, my Spanish family will be able to enjoy the summery taste of nectarines.  Assuming they’re able to wait that long.

Peach Pound Cake

Adapted from this Allrecipes.com recipe

Yield: two 9×5 loaves or one Bundt cake

1 c. butter, softened

1 c. granulated sugar

1 c. brown sugar

4 large eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

3 c. all-purpose flour, divided

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

2 c. peaches, pitted and chopped

1. Preheat the oven to 325º F (165º C).  Grease two 9×5 loaf pans and sprinkle with granulated sugar.

2. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy.  Add one egg at a time, beating well after each addition.  Stir in vanilla.  Add 2 3/4 c. flour, baking powder, and salt; combine well.

3. Use the remaining 1/4 c. flour to coat the peaches; fold into batter.  Divide the batter evenly between the two loaf pans.

4. Bake 60-70 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the loaf comes out clean.

5. Allow to cool 30 minutes in the pans; remove loaves to wire racks to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

