Skip to content

Day Two: Pastries

July 5, 2011
tags: ,

Did you really think I would get any farther on my countdown before including a pastry shop?  In all fairness, I only went to this particular one because it’s legendary, so it totally counts as an Important Thing.

The place is called Embassy, and it’s been the tea room for the Madrilenian upper crust since December 5, 1931.  An Irishwoman named Margaret Kearney Taylor opened it upon her discovery that Madrid had no places for a woman to have tea unaccompanied.  It’s located on the corner of Ayala and Paseo de la Castellana, which puts it smack dab in the middle of the poshest neighborhood in Madrid.  It was the natural location choice since, as she said, la Castellana is Madrid’s equivalent of Les Champs-Elysées.  Since 1931, they have added a restaurant and now carry other gourmet items such as pasta sauces, soups, jams, etc. … but I went right for the good stuff.

I thought it would be appropriate to photograph these quintessentially Madrilenian pastries with my host mom’s “I heart NY” mug.

Aren’t I funny?

Now, there are definitely multiple pastries inside that package (I couldn’t walk out with just one, could I?  What would people think?)  For now, I’ll just show you the one I tried today: two halves of melt-in-your-mouth meringue sandwiched together by homemade whipped cream.

In case you’re wondering, no, I did not actually use that fork.  (Turns out meringue is better eaten with one’s hands.  Nom!)

All in all, day two was a good day.  Not only did I get to eat lunch with a good friend but, as we parted ways, she also recommended Embassy for dessert.  And then she dropped me off at the door.

What are friends for?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 11:56 PM

    Meringue… whipped cream… sounds and looks amazing. I’ll be in Spain next July and, thanks in part to your blog, will find my way to a pasteleria or three.

    And I’ve always wondered: why not ‘Madridian’?

Leave a Reply

