Skip to content

So Begins the Countdown

July 4, 2011
tags: ,

One week from today, I’ll be on my way to the airport to catch a plane back to the States.  With all of the moving around in college and the multiple visits abroad, you would think I’d be used to it by now.  What’s more, I’ve got a second home and a second family in Madrid, so I know I’m not saying goodbye forever.  But it may be the last time I live here, so the usual oh-my-God-I’m-moving panic is setting in.  What if there’s something I haven’t seen yet?!?!

Madrid is a city of six million.  There will always be something left to see.

So I’m just going to see things at my pace.  School is out, so I can take advantage of these seven days to see the last of the places on my list and revisit places I know and love.  My goal is to do at least one Important Thing every day this week, and I’d be glad if you shared them with me.

Day 1: Sunday. A perfect day for a laid-back breakfast and a walk in the park.

Breakfast?  Check.

Park?  Definitely check.

Retiro Park is one of my favorite places in the world.  It’s big enough to forget you’re in the city, and it’s got everything from walking and biking paths to a community center.  I’ve been there dozens of times, but the Crystal Palace never fails to amaze me.  If you look inside–which you can do because it’s a crystal palace–you can see a child sliding down the latest installation art piece.  It’s a fun place.

La Rosaleda: the rose garden.  We’re just a little past rose season, but some of them were still going strong.

This esplanade has a great view of the back of the Prado.  I especially like this section of the park because it’s got some trees shaped like brains, not pictured.  (I have to leave something to the imagination, don’t I?)

Retiro has a bit of everything; just while walking around today, I saw two sets of outdoor exercise equipment (one for adults and one for the elderly), a group of people meditating, and several friends tightrope walking between two trees.  I had to take a little detour to avoid the classical music concert that was in progress.  And I even saw a big piece of sky.

Today I dedicated the time to see all of the different sections of the park, so this leaves the rest of the week free to do those Important Things I was telling you about.  We’ll see what I cook up for tomorrow!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2011 6:59 PM

    Jamie! I’ll be missing you by a day…too bad. Thanks for all the tips though, reading your blog makes me really excited to be there 🙂

    • July 4, 2011 8:17 PM

      I can’t believe the bad timing! Make sure to spend some time in Malasaña and Chueca; they’re fun neighborhoods for people our age, and most tourists don’t make it that far. Have a great time in Madrid!

Leave a Reply

