Skip to content

Simple Things

June 6, 2011
tags: ,

Over the course of the year, I’ve snapped pictures of things that either didn’t merit an entire post for themselves or just got lost in the shuffle, and I thought I’d share a couple of them with you now.

One of my favorite treats to keep around the house are Lotus biscuits, which are the basis for the phenomenal Speculoos spread that I rave about far more than is socially acceptable.  While I usually argue that generic brands taste exactly like their more expensive counterparts, these cookies have a truly unique spiced flavor, and they make a wonderful companion to coffee.

I’m not sure about the packaging in other countries, but here they come in handy 2-cookie packs.  It’s perfect for those days when you want just a little something to spice up your coffee break.

I was reminded of Speculoos when a friend of mine suggested this praline spread from Le Pain Quotidien, which is a chain that can be found around Europe and in the States.  Driven by curiosity and the fading memory of cookie spread, I thought I’d go check it out.

When I discovered that, like its spiced cookie associate, this spread is from Belgium, I just had to buy some.  And sure enough, it’s absolutely fantastic: quite sweet with a strong taste of caramel and hazelnuts.  My favorite part is that it’s not completely smooth, which reminds you that it comes from real ingredients.  As a matter of fact, it’s an organic product, and it tastes really great spread on bread.

Or forget the bread and replace it with a brioche that, despite coming from a chain shop, was one of the better pastries I’ve had in this country.  It was buttery on the outside and, as I discovered when I sliced it open, fluffy on the inside.  On second thought, the Brunette spread may have been unnecessary, but I certainly have no regrets.

On an unrelated note, peaches!  Nectarines!  Cherries!  Strawberries!

Oh summer fruits, I have missed you so.  Every time I go to the frutería, I have to resist the urge to bring home bags stuffed with fruit that I’ll never be able to finish before it goes bad.  But if my Spanish mother gives me some cherries from a friend’s farm, I have no choice but to eat them and enjoy them.  And photograph them, of course.

Have you ever seen anything so beautiful?  I mean, really.  I love lots of other fruits, but they’re no contest in the beauty department.

And that’s that!  Sometimes products find their way into my cabinets and end up becoming a staple, and I forget to share them.  Other times, I have the good fortune of receiving a delicious treat from my Spanish family, and I forget to share it.  Or I get really busy and–wouldn’t you know it–forget to share things.  But I think these three are things worth sharing, better late than never!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

