Skip to content

Brussels Sprouts

March 6, 2011

I was never served Brussels sprouts as a child; apparently, my dad loved them but my mom thought they tasted like dirt regardless of how they were prepared.  Considering their bad reputation and the fact that most people have a nasty relationship with Brussels sprouts because of traumatic childhood memories of sulfurous piles of boiled-to-death greens, I’m actually really thankful for their absence from my childhood.  This left me free to discover them, sautéed in olive oil with some salt and paired with cherry tomatoes, at the ripe old age of 21.  Despite their bad rap, I thought they were quite good, and I quickly adopted them as one of my favorite veggies.

But Brussels sprouts (coles de bruselas; literally, Brussels cabbages) aren’t as readily available here in Spain, and I was really missing them.  So when I saw some in the fruit shop, I just had to buy them. And since our two burners were otherwise occupied with dinner preparations, we decided to change it up a bit and broil them, which resulted in sprouts that were just as delicious as their sautéed counterparts.  The texture is quite pleasing; the inner layers are fully cooked, but the outer layers are crunchy and salty.  Most importantly, the broiler does all the work, which quickly pushes this dish into the minimal-commitment, maximum-happiness category.

1. Slice off and discard the stem remnants and slice the Brussels sprouts in half lengthwise.


2. Place them in a glass or metal baking dish (I used tin foil for easy clean-up.)

3. Drizzle the sprouts generously with olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt.
4. Broil on medium for about 6-8 minutes or until the outer layers begin to dry out and shrink; using a spatula, flip all of the sprouts over and broil for another 6-8 minutes.

5. Serve warm and enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Fiona permalink
    March 7, 2011 12:34 AM

    I had them for the first time ever just last week, boiled. I enjoyed them – it helps to know they are incredibly good for your health – but if I had to eat them as a child I’d probably have cried!

    My friend claims throwing them into mashed potatoes is tasty. I am slightly dubious but will give it a try next time.

    Great photos, btw! 🙂 The food looks sharper there than the real food that’s actually in front of me…

Leave a Reply

