Skip to content

Chocolate con Churros

November 29, 2010

If there’s any Spanish dessert I crave while not on the Peninsula, it’s chocolate con churros.  You Americans are thinking, ”Hey!  We have churros in the US, and they’re delicious!”  You’re correct, and I need to preface this post by saying that I love me some Mexican-style churros with cinnamon-sugar on top, or even filled with apples, cream, chocolate… you name it, I’ll eat one.  They’re wonderful.

But Spanish churros are different.  The churro part is always left plain, or sprinkled with just a touch of sugar.  Here, a churro is just fried dough, because the magical part is the chocolate that comes with it.  Imagine the best hot chocolate you’ve ever had.  (Good, right?)  Now push it aside for a second and tell me this doesn’t put your formerly-cherished memory to shame:

European-style hot chocolate is something else altogether.  It’s so thick and creamy that it could very well be a bar of melted chocolate.  Thankfully, it also has a little something else that makes it light-creamy, not heavy-creamy.  (That way you don’t feel quite so guilty about consuming an entire cup and using your spoon to carefully retrieve every last drop, stopping short of licking it clean only because you’re in public.  You know you were thinking it.)

The chocolate con churros pictured above were from a place called El Siglo in Valencia, and I assure you that I came back from that trip with every intention of dragging my roommate around Madrid and trying every famous chocolate con churros spot so I could compare, contrast and write a wonderful post about it.  But, huh, it’s been a month and I haven’t gone out for chocolate con churros once.  I blame Thanksgiving and my birthday and, before that, all-day choir rehearsals and a little trip to Cambridge that was so much fun I couldn’t stop thinking about it long enough to write a blog post.  Ah yes, and another weekend trip to Normandy that I just got back from a couple of hours ago.

BUT rest assured that it’s getting cold outside.  (When I arrived in Madrid, it was snowing.  In November.  In Madrid.  Snowing!)  That means the chocolate con churros pull is only getting stronger, and a girl can only resist so long.  And even if I don’t get a chance to test any new chocolate con churros places soon, I do have some delicious cheeses from an open-air market in Caen that I plan to sample and photograph soon. A bientôt!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Fiona permalink
    December 3, 2010 7:20 PM

    That looks absolutely amazing. Does the word churro mean something in Spanish?

    • December 4, 2010 7:59 PM

      The word ”churro” just refers to the food, although you can also colloquially call something a ”churro” to imply that it was hastily finished or botched. I can’t imagine why, but it’s useful to know nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

