Skip to content

Delicias de nueces

October 15, 2010
tags: ,

If you come to Spain to study or work, you will quickly notice that Spaniards love holidays.  My favorite example is the puente, meaning “bridge”: when a national holiday falls on a Tuesday, Spain also takes the preceding Monday off.  They’re just being honest.  Would anyone really get any work done on Monday?  I don’t think so.

This past weekend was a puente, and my friend Alan came to visit from Santander.  While he was here, we wandered around the city seeing various sights, and one of the things we discovered was a store called El Jardin del Convento that exclusively sells products from convents around Spain (http://www.eljardindelconvento.net/).  Many convents in Spain have a treat that they are well-known for making, and it’s always fun to stop in, chat with the nuns, and pick up one thing or the other.  This store has brought many of these products together in one convenient location for when you don’t feel like traveling; these delicias de nueces, “walnut delights,” for example, come all the way from Badajoz, which is 400 kilometers away from Madrid.

I had never heard of these before, but they were sinfully delicious and soooo addictive.  Each candy is comprised of a walnut encompassed by a chewy, barely-solid sugar compound.  If I had any left, I would dare you to eat just one, and you would fail.

Luckily for you, they’re all gone.  Luckily for me, I know where I can get some more.   (Or better yet, I’ll try something new and let you know how it goes!  There was some coffee jam that I nearly bought last time, and I just might have to take a special trip to pick up a jar.)  I must say that I prefer to buy my sweets from the nuns themselves–since nuns are absolutely adorable and there is something charming and authentic about the whole experience–but it’s nice to know that there is another way to pick up my favorite convent sweets if the mood strikes.  It’s an acceptable use of my expendable income, don’t you think?  Never mind, don’t answer that.  Just grab a delicia de nuez, nod, and smile.

Leave a Reply

